Four England players selected in fan-voted All-Time XV

REVEALED: The greatest XV in rugby history… and there’s no room for Carter, O’Connell and Parisse.

15.Serge Blanco (France)

The French icon’s international career with France saw the flamboyant full-back perform various outlandish skill levels while winning Five Nations Grand Slams in 1981 and 1987 as well as four other titles.

Blanco was a threat from all over the pitch and often took risks that we very rarely see these days. In total, he won 93 caps for France during his 11-year international career between 1980 and 1991, which was a record when he retired.

He also scored an impressive 233 points and is a true legend of the sport.

Did you know: Images of Blanco’s on-pitch heroism can still be ironically viewed alongside images of him strutting along the touchline smoking a cigarette.
Honorable Mentions: JPR Williams (Wales), Jason Robinson (England), Percy Montgomery (South Africa)

14. Jonas Lomu (New Zealand)

The New Zealander remains the all-time top scorer at the Rugby World Cup with Bryan Habana, crossing the whitewash 15 times in the 1995 and 1999 tournaments. The simplest selection in an XV of the greatest of all time.

Of Tongan descent, it was Lomu who made being a killer big winger glamorous, although his stature could have easily seen him fill in the center or somewhere in the pack.

Much like the Marvel Universe’s Juggernaut, there wasn’t much that could stop Lomu once he got into stride.

Did you know: In September 2009, Lomu entered an amateur bodybuilding contest, finishing second in two categories
Honorable Mentions: Bryan Habana (South Africa), Doug Howlett (New Zealand), Shane Williams (Wales)

13. Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland)

Former Irish, British and Irish Lions skipper Brian O’Driscoll was one of the most consistent performers in the world for over a decade.

He hung up his boots in 2014 after racking up 133 caps for Ireland with a fantastic comeback of 245 points. In the emerald green, he triumphed in the Six Nations Tournament in 2009 (Grand Slam) and 2014 and was elected Player of the Tournament in 2006, 2007 and 2009.

The Dublin native is also Ireland’s all-time leading goalscorer with an incredible 46 scores, and has also led his country more times than any other player.

Did you know: O’Driscoll was chosen player of the tournament at the 2006, 2007 and 2009 RBS Six Nations Championships.
Honorable Mentions: Jeremy Guscott (England), Will Greenwood (England), Frank Bunce (New Zealand)


Teresa E. Burton