Every New York Pro Bodybuilding Show Winner

Photo via @philheath Instagram, @big_ramy Instagram and @nick_walker39 Instagram

Get all the New York Pro winners below!

Many people are familiar with some of the big names in bodybuilding competitions, however, there are those important events that can make athletes’ careers that people may not be aware of. the New York Professional is one of them and this event has helped many bodybuilders get noticed while qualifying for a host of other big events like Mr. Olympia.

The New York Pro contest will take place on May 21, 2022 in New Jersey in what is stacked to be an exciting event. With most of the divisions in attendance, fans will be able to see their favorite bodybuilders take to the stage in a bid to take home the top prize.

We’ve put together a list of past winners of this event so everyone can see some of the legendary names in the record books. And maybe we’ll have a new addition at the end of this contest.

New York Professional Winners

  • Darrem Charles – 2005
  • Phil Heath – 2006
  • Warren Branch – 2007
  • Kai Greene – 2008 and 2011
  • Evan Centopani – 2009
  • Roelly Winklaar – 2010
  • Cedric McMillan – 2012
  • Mamdouh “Big Ramy” Elssbiay – 2013 & 2014
  • Juan Morel – 2015 & 2019
  • Dexter Jackson – 2016
  • Sergio Oliva Jr. – 2017
  • Nathan De Asha – 2018
  • Iain Valliere – 2020
  • Nick Walker – 2021

Darrem Charles – 2005

Darrem Charles has won 14 trade shows and competed at Mr. Olympia 14 times in his career. His first IFBB competition was in 1989 and from there he won events like the Toronto Pro, Atlantic City Pro, Puerto Rico Pro and this New York Pro competition in 2005.

Phil Heath – 2006

This New York Pro event, along with the Colorado Pro Championships, were the first two pro victories for Phil Heath. Over the next two years he would train hard and continue to the gates of Olympia where, in 2011, it finally happened. For the next six years, nothing stopped him and he went on to tie Arnold Schwarzenegger for the second most wins of all time. He also gained a reputation as one of the most muscular men on the planet.

Related: Full list of Masters Olympia winners over the years

Warren Branch – 2007

Coming into this New York Pro win, Warren Branch had just entered the pro circuit. He had won a few shows, but finished 8and and 12and to Mr. Olympia so far. This show seemed to be a turning point for Warren, as after this victory he would place in the top 3 multiple times at Olympia, win the Arnold Classic numerous times, and go on to enjoy a dominant bodybuilding career.

Kai Greene – 2008 and 2011

Kai Green took to the pro circuit in 2004 and enjoyed a string of success leading into the early 2010s, including his first victory at the New York Pro contest. He continued to train with a prep coach and would see another victory here in 2011, but this time he had his sights set on Mr. Olympia. He finished second in the Mr. Olympia contest in 2012, 2013, and 2014. Despite failing, Greene’s 2016 was a great year and he would win the Arnold Classic South America crown, along with Arnold Classic and Arnold Classic Australia. He has not competed since.

Evan Centopani – 2009

Evan Centopani earned his pro card in 2007 and soon entered this New York Pro competition in 2009. Although his professional career may not have been as long as some of his fellow competitors, he has competed in some of the biggest competitions and has held sponsorships with some of the best brands in the business.

Roelly Winklaar – 2010

Roelly Winklaar turned pro in 2009 and won this New York Pro competition the following year. Members of the community were stunned and this achievement gave him his chance to compete in Mr. Olympia. With wins at shows like the Yamamoto Pro, Prague Pro, Arnold Classic Australia and Chicago Pro, he continued to fight for that Olympia title, finishing third in 2018.

Cedric McMillan – 2012

Cedric McMillan was one of those bodybuilders looking to bring back that look from the golden age of old-school bodybuilding. He obtained his professional card in 2009 and was a real competitor in the professional circuit. With wins at events like the Arnold Classic, Levrone Pro Classic and this New York Pro event, he continued his dominance against the best in the sport. McMillan died in 2022.

Mamdouh “Big Ramy” Elssbiay – 2013 & 2014

Mamdouh Elssbiay, better known as Big Ramy, got his pro card just three years after he started training. His professional debut came at this New York Pro event, which he won in 2013 and 2014. Entering the Arnold Classic South America contest, Big Ramy was the next new guy, the one bodybuilders looked to see. what was going to happen. And it did not disappoint. A great career recently saw back-to-back first-place finishes at the Mr. Olympia contest in 2020 and 2021.

Juan Morel – 2015 & 2019

This boxer turned bodybuilder, Juan Morel made his amateur debut in 2007 and got his pro card in 2011. He was constantly battling among the best in the business and finished in the top ten at Mr. Olympia in 2014. Things slowed down a bit after that for Morel, despite his New York 2017 Victory Pro, and it wasn’t until 2019 that he chained three huge wins in his second New York Pro, Japan Pro and Arnold Classic South America contest.

Related: Full List of Arnold Classic South America Winners

Dexter Jackson – 2016

Dexter “The Blade” Jackson won the 2008 Olympia competition after having had a great year including victories at the Arnold Classic and the Australian Pro Grand Prix VIII. He went on to have an incredible career and added the New York Pro victory in 2016 to the list. He has competed in 20 Mr. Olympia contests and is the only bodybuilder to have won the overall title at Mr. Olympia and Masters Olympia. He started his own bodybuilding competition called The Dexter Classic in 2009.

Sergio Oliva Jr. – 2017

Sergio Oliva Jr. is the son of multi-Olympic winner Sergio Oliva. He got his pro card in 2015 and that New York Pro win was his best finish so far. He continues to compete in top bodybuilding shows following in his father’s footsteps.

Nathan De Asha – 2018

Nathan DeAsha took to the stage in his first event at the age of 21 and although it took a bit of time, he got his pro card in 2014 at the UK Championships. It would go on to top 10 at Mr. Olympia and this New York Pro is one of the few shows De Asha can add to the list.

Iain Valliere – 2020

Win your pro card in 2014, Iain Valliere performed at various pro shows leading up to this New York Pro event. This win, however, is his most notable victory. Despite some controversy at this event, he was successful and won other events like the Tampa Pro and Texas Pro.

Nick Walker – 2021

Nick Walker, also known as “The Mutant”, turned pro in 2020 and in less than a year earned this New York Pro victory, earning him a spot at Olympia. He also won the Arnold Classic the same year and won 5and at Olympia, making his career something special.


the New York Professional is an exciting event that can help aspiring bodybuilders, as well as those already established, cement their place in the world of bodybuilding. With another exciting event already taking shape, perhaps another winner will be added to the New York Pro roster and history books.

Let us know what you think in the comments below. Also be sure to follow Generation Iron on Facebook, Twitterand Instagram.

*Images courtesy of Phil Heath Instagram, Big Ramy Instagram and Nick Walker Instagram

Teresa E. Burton